## RESOLUTION NO. 2021 – 05 BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE BAY AREA WATER SUPPLY AND CONSERVATION AGENCY

## DECLARING THAT BOARD MEETINGS WILL CONTINUE TO BE HELD VIA TELECONFERENCE

WHEREAS, on March 4, 2020, Governor Newsom declared a State of Emergency to make additional resources available, formalize emergency actions already underway across multiple state agencies and departments, and help the State prepare for a broader spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, on March 17, 2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Governor Newsom issued Executive Order N-29-20, which suspended certain provisions of the Ralph M. Brown Act in order to allow legislative bodies to conduct meetings electronically without a physical meeting place; and

WHEREAS, on June 11, 2021, Governor Newsom issued Executive Order N-08-21, which specified that Executive Order N-29-20 would remain in effect through September 30, 2021, at which point it would expire; and

WHEREAS, on September 16, 2021, the Governor signed Assembly Bill 361 into law as urgency legislation that went into effect on October 1, 2021, amending Government Code Section 54953 of the Brown Act to allow legislative bodies to continue to meet remotely during a proclaimed state of emergency where state or local officials have recommended measures to promote social distancing; and

WHEREAS, the Governor's proclaimed State of Emergency remains in effect, and State and local officials, including the California Department of Public Health and the Department of Industrial Relations, have imposed or recommended measures to promote social distancing.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that, in order to ensure the health and safety of the public, meetings of the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Water Supply and Conservation

Authority will continue to be held via teleconference in accordance with Assembly Bill 361 and the provisions of Government Code Section 54953(e).

Regularly passed and adopted this 18th day of November, 2021 by the following vote:

AYES: Barber, Benton, Breault, Chambers, Combs, Cormack, Hamilton, Hardy, Hindi,

Jordan, Larsson, Manalo, Matichak, Mendall, Mickelsen, Montano, O'Brien,

Piccolotti, Pierce, Quigg, Vella, Weed, Wood, Zigterman

NOES:

ABSENT: Liccardo, López

CHAIR, BOARD OF DIRECTORS

ATTEST:

Board Secretary